Wonders of korean skincare

http://www.lizzbuenaventura.com/2010/01/skin-care-pore-smoothing-peach-base.html

Skin Care: Pore-Smoothing Peach Base from Etude House

FOTD: The Natural Look
(I Love Korean Skincare! :D)

Since I’ve discovered the joys of Korean skin care, it’s like I’ve entered a whole new world of cosmetics. My beauty routine used to be quite simple: cleanser, moisturizer, and makeup were my best friends. Now, however, my eyes have been opened to the joys of toners, moisturizing cleansing creams, facial mists, and pore-minimizers.

With the amount of product that goes towards perfect skin, I’m now completely unsurprised that Korean women have gorgeous complexions.

With the recently opened ETUDE HOUSE in SM Megamall (ground floor, near Toy Kingdom), it’s never been so easy to get hold of these wonderful products. (I buy my products from an ebay seller because I already know what I want, but for those who want to sample the creams, it’s best to go to Megamall.)

My latest skin care favourite is undoubtedly Etude’s Pore Smoothing Peach Base in “Mint”. It’s actually a very thin mint-colored cream, but spreading and blending it onto your skin yields a lovely shade slightly paler than your original complexion.

Etude House Pore Smoothing Peach Base 50ml
Php588 from ebay seller Sun Kim

This product also has a tiny hint of iridescent sheen that makes your skin absolutely glow, and the mild coverage lightens dark under-eye circles and blotchy complexions. I find that this is perfect for days that I have wonderful skin, as its light coverage lets my skin show through. (This is actually meant as a makeup base, but I find that it works just as well on its own.)

1) Cleansing Dream: Perfect Cleansing Cream,
2) Aqua Sherbet Ice Toner;
both from Etude House Megamall branch
3) InnisFree Green Tea Mineral Mist 50ml;
Php264 from ebay seller Sun Kim

The above products are what I regularly use to keep my skin smooth and blemish-free. The cleansing cream is a perfect makeup remover and moisturizer, and I just can’t stop raving about the Ice Toner. (I can’t actually remember how much it was, but they were definitely less than Php500 each). The cleansing cream works just like Pond’s facial cream cleansers do, except for the fact that it doesn’t feel oily at all! (This was my biggest complaint with Pond’s, so I’m really happy with this.)

The Aqua Sherbet Ice is a little different from your average toner. It comes in a spray bottle so you have to use cotton pads to apply it. I tried using cotton balls, but I missed it on the first try and ended up spraying my hand. 😦 In any case, after spraying into the pad, you wipe it quickly onto your skin. If you’re too slow, the products dries up and you’re left with nothing but air. When applied, the toner comes on incredibly cold and light, and I could practically feel my pores closing as I used it. The oil control factor was incredible, and it’s perfect base for your favourite BB Cream.

The last product I use, the InnisFree Mineral Mist, goes on after applying makeup. I usually use it to set my mineral makeup, because it’s a lovely moisturizing mist that feels great on your skin. You can skip this if you use BB creams or tinted moisturizers as your foundation– only powder-based makeup would benefit from this. 🙂

So there you have it! My pre and post makeup rituals seem to be getting longer and longer, but I have to say that it’s all completely worth it. I don’t think I’ve ever had skin this smooth, haha. Korea may be my new cosmetics-buying destination!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

